New president of DO Cava

Vilafranca del Penedès (Barcelona), 28 August 2018 – Today a plenary session of the Cava Regulatory Board has taken place with new members elected by the industry, both incumbent and surrogate. This new board has dismissed the outgoing members and, finally, has voted a new president and vice president.

In the second ballot and by majority, the DOP Cava Regulatory Board has elected a successor to Pedro Bonet.

The new president is Javier Pagés Font, CEO of Grupo Codorniú Raventós and vice president of the Spanish Wine Federation.

Javier Pagés Font

Mr. Pagés said of the election: “I begin this new era with pride, conviction and commitment. It is an exciting challenge to succeed the last president who established the bases to build up of cava’s prestige. I am committed to work with all those who represent the industry -vine-growers, producers, co-ops and institutions- to keep on strengthening the value of cava and to position it among the best sparkling wines in the world”.

In addition, Xavier Farré of CEVIPE will continue as the DOP Cava vice president after being elected in a second ballot also by majority.

The incumbent members of the DO Cava Regulatory Board for the next four years are:

  • Josep Esteve
  • Lluís Urgell
  • Antonio Borràs
  • Jaume Domènech
  • Joan Pascual
  • Xavier Farré
  • Jose Luis Bonet
  • Pere Escolà
  • Pere Ventura
  • Joan Juvé
  • Josep Puigç
  • Carles Andreu

For further information contact:
Silvia Grimaldo, Director of Communication, DO Cava email: